Once you have published a registration form and registrants begin to sign up for your event, you can view and manage these registrations in the Event Manager App > Registration section > Registrants tab.

Depending on how you have set up your event registration forms, registrations may either be approved automatically (as they are received) or may require manual review & approval. 

Registrations requiring manual approval will appear in the Registrants tab with a "Pending" status. An Event Manager will then need to manually review & approve the pending registration before it is accepted.

Approving a registration

  1. Open the Registration section > Registrants tab.
  2. Locate and select the pending, declined or canceled registration that you wish to approve from the list.
  3. Click the Approve (thumbs-up) button to open the approval popup window. By default, ClearEvent emails an approval confirmation message to the registrant when the dialog's Approve button is clicked. You can choose not to send an email, or modify the default message if needed.

Alternately, you can review full registration details before approving by clicking the Edit (pencil) button from the inline menu to open the Registrant Details page. After reviewing the registration, click the Approve button in the top toolbar and follow the prompts.

Approving a registration with a pending charge

If a registration was received for a registration form that has its Approval Mode set to "Manual Approval" and its Manual Approval Payment Mode set to "Charge registration on approval", the registration must be manually approved by an Event Manager before the registrant's credit card will be charged.

To approve a registration with a pending registration charge:

  1. Open the Registration section > Registrants tab.
  2. Locate and select the pending registration with you wish to approve from the list.
  3. Click the Approve (thumbs-up) button to open the approval popup window. An "Approval Summary" message will be displayed that will describe what will happen when the registration is approved and the charge attempt is made.

Alternately, if you wish to review the registration before approving it, click the Edit (pencil) button from the inline menu to open the Registrant Details page. Additional details related to the pending charge can be found in the Payment tab. After reviewing the registration, click the Approve button in the top toolbar and follow the prompts.

Declining a registration

If a registrant does not meet the requirements to participate in your event, you may decline them at any time. When a registrant is declined, they will be removed from any registration counts and job assignments (if they exist).

To decline a registration:

  1. Open the Registration section > Registrants tab.
  2. Locate the pending, approved, or canceled registration you wish to decline from the list.
  3. To quickly decline the registrant without viewing the registration details, click the Decline (thumbs-down) button. The Decline popup window will be shown.
  4. By default, ClearEvent will email a declined confirmation message to the registrant when the dialog's Decline button is clicked. You can modify the default message manually or by applying a message template, or choose to not send an email. Both a standard default message template and a "duplicate registration" message template are provided and can be used as a starting point.

Accepting or declining duplicate registrations

Duplicate registrations sometimes occur when an attendee signs up for your event multiple times by mistake, or is attempting to register another person but enters duplicate details instead.

Before accepting or declining a duplicate registration, it's recommended to reach out to the registrant to confirm if their registration is actually a duplicate.

If you do need to decline a duplicate registration, it generally is better to not send a confirmation email. This avoids confusion caused by the registrant thinking that their original registration (and not the duplicate registration) was declined.

Canceling a registration

You may need to cancel a registration that you have received. Canceling a registration will remove the registrant from any registration summary counts and job assignments. At any time you can reset the registrant's status to Canceled from an Approved, Declined, or Pending state.

To cancel a registration:

  1. Open the Registration section > Registrants tab.
  2. Select the approved, declined, or pending registrant that you wish to cancel from the list and click the Edit (pencil) button to open the Registrant Details page.
  3. Click the Cancel button. 

Resetting a registrant's status

At any time you can reset a registrant's status back to Pending from an Approved, Declined, or Canceled state.

  1. Open the Registration section > Registrants tab.
  2. Select the approved, declined, or pending registrant that you wish to cancel from the list and click the Edit (pencil) button to open the Registrant Details page.
  3. Click the Reset button. 

Did this answer your question?